[Rawrcipe] Kathy Goes Sukiyaki

(Like my ‘Book Rawrviews’, I came up with the idea for this new tag because it is kind of a recipe but by no means am I anywhere near a professional or anyone you should go to for sound advice when it comes to nutrition or cooking. It just documents things I’ve cooked and liked and want to share in my little blog.)

As announced in the previous entry, I ventured into my kitchen on Sunday and cooked myself a nice Asian dish. I called it Thai-influenced in the last entry but to be honest, I think Sukiyaki is a Chinese thing. For some reason, I think of most Asian foods as Thai. Forgive me for the ignorance.

I made this thing from scratch and while it wasn’t a full success because it turned out way, way, way hotter than I’d planned it to be, I still found it delicious, so I decided to write down what I used anyway, even if it’s just for future reference.

Glass noodles with chicken and sukiyaki veggies

Glass noodles with chicken and sukiyaki veggies

I used…

200g Glass noodles (I used Thai glass noodles but I don’t think it makes much of a difference here)

150g Chicken breast

200g Broccoli

2 Bell peppers (one red, one green)

3 Spring onions

75g Red pepper paste

200ml Sukiyaki sauce

Coriander

Garlic

Ginger

Salt

Pepper

 

Those made enough for two large or three small servings.

I simply boiled the glass noodles and the broccoli. Then chopped the chicken and the veggies into small pieces. I let the garlic and the onions roast in a pan with a tiny bit of oil for a minute or two, then added the chicken and then the bell peppers. After another five minutes or so, I added the broccoli, ginger and the red pepper paste and let it roast for another five minutes until it had all adopted a nice spicy flavor from the paste. Afterwards, I poured the sukiyaki sauce over it all, spiced it some more with the coriander, salt and pepper and let it cook for a good 15 minutes.

Once it was done, I just gave a bit of the mass over some glass noodles and tadaaaa!

With hindsight, however, I should have added some coconut milk to the sauce to make it less hot. I don’t even know why I didn’t think of it because I still had a can of it available. If you’d ask for a suggestion, I’d say definitely add that until it’s tolerable for your personal taste.

But otherwise, it was really, really delicious. Once my mouth starts burning at the mere thought, I plan to experiment with it some more.

Oh, and the veggies are totally subject to personal taste, too, of course. I just looooove broccoli but it’d probably do well with green beans, cauliflower and a number of other veggies, too.

Categories: Foody, Rawrcipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “[Rawrcipe] Kathy Goes Sukiyaki

  1. Sukiyaki is actually Japanese. Like Teriyaki or Udon or Sushi or Mocchi πŸ™‚
    Some of the best asian Dishes are Japanese. πŸ™‚

    • Really? Ha, see how ignorant I am? It’s stupid in Germany, though. We rarely actually get any food places that are declared as specifically Japanese, Chinese, Thai, etc. It’s just “Asian Food” and that’s it. Same with most foods we can buy from grocery stores. Anyway, thanks for correcting my ignorance. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.