[Book Rawrview] “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

Miss Peregine's Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

My inner book nerd is having a lucky year, it seems. It’s only April and I’ve already read so many books that were immediately added to my list of favorites. The latest addition being “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs.

This book had been on my wishlist for months. I’d originally intended to buy the eBook for my Kindle but then one day, I found it in a bookstore and learned that it’s not just a book but a unique reading experience that combines the story with old photographs featured in the book. That would not have been as enjoyable on my Kindle Paperwhite as it was reading the physical copy.

Now, I’m not crazy about a book’s outer appearance, will read ancient and used copies and don’t really buy editions because ‘they’ll look better on my shelf’. But sometimes, a book’s cover and entire layout that leaves me completely smitten, as was the case here. I bought the paperback version but it’s one of those heavy, high-quality editions. The decorations on each page, the photographs…it all just makes you feel like so much love and effort went into writing and making this book.

The story is absolutely unique, to say the least. It reminded me of Harry Potter a little bit, not because the stories were much alike but because it was so detailed and created a whole new world right within our own. That’s always a risk because you have to make it absolutely believable. I remember going to London after reading Harry Potter and thinking that it was absolutely possible that there were wizards around me and magical places like the ones described in the books just around the corner. And it’s the same with “Miss Peregrine”.

It’s more than just bordering on scary and dark, leaving you with an eery feeling that something bad is going to happen. There were absolutely no weak spots in this story for me, no point where it would just drag on and on. Sometimes, I found the explanations of how things work in Miss Peregrine’s world and why things are how they are a little hard to follow because Ransom Riggs put so much effort into making this believable that he came up with a whole new science for this story. But making an effort in return to understand it all and paying attention is so worth it.

The old photographs the author put in the book wouldn’t actually be necessary to understand the story but they give it an even more realistic feel, like you’re actually seeing people like Emma or Olive in them. My copy of the book has a little interview with Ransom Riggs in the appendix and it was awesome to read about how he came about those photos and how he built some of the characters around them. Although I’m a wuss and must

I was so glad to find the book is part one of a series because it means I can follow Miss Peregrine, Jacob and the Peculiar Children a bit longer.

Categories: Book Rawrviews | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.