Growing Up

The worst and best thing about being an adult is that you find that your parents and teachers were right about things. I would have never believed them when they told me I would do or be some of the things that make me who I am today.

The other day, I had a rather unpleasant conversation with a customer who accused me of being rude. The old me would have been outraged and spent the rest of the day bitching about that person, calling her several unflattering things in private conversations. But this time, to my surprise, I took it to heart. If I’m honest, I was having a bit of a bad day. It was a Saturday, I was at work, I was tired and bored and all I wanted to do was read my book and be left alone. And then this person called and she was a bit daft when it came to all the technical things. To my defense, I have to say I wasn’t downright rude. But I have to admit that I probably sounded more impatitent than I intended to let show. She was the first person ever to comment on it, so I have no idea if this was the first time a customer noticed when I wasn’t in top form or whether the others just kept quiet. Maybe she was a bit touchy herself, I don’t know. What I do know is that she did have a point.

And here’s the crazy thing: I did not get mad, I did not let it drag me down. Instead, I took it to heart and decided to work on it. And even though it’s only been a few days, I think I really do sound friendlier. In fact, I’ve been in a splendid mood ever since.

And while I was at it, I also gave the whole attitude thing a thought. All my life, I’ve been taught that you get what you give and I’ve never seriously considered this. I figured it was just one of those sayings, empty words. But it really is true. I wish I could say that the world was full of smiling people and happy things for me now but of course, that’s wrong. But I think what I’ve figured out is that all I can do is change my own attitude about things. I cannot make people smile at me or be kind to me but I can change the way I react to them.

I think it’s a good change. I’m changing myself one step at a time and I think I’ve finally realized that’s the way to go. I used to think that things would be like in the movies. One day I would wake up and be a new me. Truth is, I have no idea if it can work that way. Maybe it is the case for many people. A lot of people I’ve met, i.e. on weight loss sites, swear that’s how it went down with them. That’s great for them but I think the majority of us will have to take the scenic route…

P.S.: The downside is that your co-workers will tell you your great mood is sickening. Haha.

Categories: Me Myself and I | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.