Back to Reality

Oh noes!Oh noes! It was back to work time today. As everyone who knows me was probably able to tell judging by my foul mood last weekend.

Getting up was harsh but not as bad as it could have been because I’m on the late shift till Thursday. So I can easily sleep till ten. Technically, I needn’t be up before noon but then I’ll feel like I’m doing nothing but work all day (which would be the case) so I try to be up in time to have a proper breakfast and get a slow start into the day. Which is a good thing because I also really, really need to get back into my old new life of trying to be healthier and lose weight. I admit I allowed myself to slack during my vacation. I should have worked out more and stuffed my face with less junk food. It’s so easy to lose your way when you haven’t been fully secure in it, yet. Now that I’m back to work and have a proper schedule again, it should be easier to behave myself again. Especially because I really, really need to start saving money again, too. For this week, the goal is not to buy any junk food in my break and only eat what I take into work with me. I have a tight reading schedule for my (German) book blog, anyway, so it shouldn’t be so hard to stick to my books in my break.

Overall, today was better than expected. I spent the first hour or so just checking my emails. And it was a good thing because there were so many new things. Part of me felt like I was the new girl there. They had to explain so many things to me and to my shame, I even confused two of our devices. Why do these stupid things always have to have crazy numbers instead of proper names? Remember back in the 90’s when Nokia phones only had numbers? I could never remember which was which and what the difference was and felt like that made me so much more uncool than I already was.

Sometime during the day, my boss came in with late birthday congratulations. Awkward moment! He really isn’t the kind of person who does these things and I’m not the kind of person who deals well with these things, so it was basically a really, really socially awkward moment. The upside was that I got an Amazon gift voucher from my employer which they always do when it’s a ‘big’ birthday like 30, 40, 50, etc. In total, I have 50 ā‚¬ in my account with Amazon now and I’m itching to shop! But at the same time, even though my wish list is long and full, there’s nothing I really want and need right this instant. So I’m probably just gonna keep the balance till there’s something I really want or need to buy, for example the next Sims expansion pack. Instead of spending a lot of money on that then and feel bad about it.

Once that was done and over with, the late hours started with first only me and a co-worker and then just me. I got to read a lot then but I don’t think I’ve fully adjusted to being at work again. To my shame, I must admit I really didn’t do much work and it still feels like being on vacation, with London coming up this weekend.

Ah well…my eyeliner looked great today! šŸ˜‰

Categories: Me Myself and I | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.