Punk Rock

I’m so bad at this. I should stop setting goals for myself and just…write instead.

Yesterday, I literally had no time to blog at all. I woke up around noon and yes, it did make me feel like a sloth. To make up for it, I decided to make proper lunch for a change. My first attempt at mashed potatoes was so, so good, by the way. I’m really bad with food and buy processed stuff way too often. But since I decided to lose weight and be healthier, I’m taking baby steps with making meals myself and trying to use fresh ingredients. I’m lucky, though. I never really got to learn how to cook so my mom never taught me to use processed stuff or got me hooked on too many bad habits when it comes to preparing food. So whenever I try to make something, I look for recipes online and most of them use fresh ingredients and spices. And I’m always surprised by how good a cook I actually am when I’m trying hard enough.

After lunch, it was already time to get ready. I was going to see one of my favorite bands with a friend. Die Ärzte are a German former punk gone more mainstream band. They’ve been around for some thirty years now and I’ve seen them several times already. If anything, they always make for a seriously funny night. Their music is awesome but what really makes their shows amazing are their funny antics and banter on stage. The downside is that their shows are usually 2.5 hours plus. This time was no exception and we even left early to make sure we’d make it home. I’d got the tickets for free through another friend, so it wasn’t a painful decision to make. It was a fun show, though, as usual, despite the somewhat scary and and freaky support act. They were what I’m sure must have been a couple of drunks trying to be a cheap Rammstein rip-off. And it wasn’t made better by them insisting to be topless on stage. Being not just chubby myself, I’m the last person to judge other people’s bodies but I think if you insist on presenting yourself half naked to the world, there should be something to present. Just sayin’!

Last night was the best proof that I’m getting old, though. My head was nearly exploding by the time I got home and I threw in two pills and slept peacefully. Today I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck, though. I just want to curl up with my snuggie and read. But the fun times aren’t over, yet. I promised a friend to meet her for froyo, smoothies and James Bond. So I’m heading out soon to do just that. Now, I’m not actually a big fan of James Bond and while we’re at it, I can as well just admit that I don’t recall ever having seen any movie in full. So I’m looking forward to having my 007-cherry popped tonight. The setting seems right as we’re gonna see it in a First Class cinema with lush leather seats, cocktails and snacks served by a waiter and an all round luxurious vibe to the whole thing. I’m afraid I can’t be bothered to dress up as a plus size Bond Girl tonight, though. Light make up and nude lips, I think.

Categories: Me Myself and I, Movies, Music is my boyfriend | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Punk Rock

  1. Not only is this one of the best written posts I have read in a long, long while and puts a lot of us bloggers in shame- you also introduced me to something I know nothing about…Indian Rock…. this is a win-win… excellent!

  2. Indian?!? I meant German of course…duh!! (sorry, I am at work- yes, naughty me…and had an article on India in front of me… )

    • Oh wow, thank you for the kind words! 🙂 I’m glad I could introduce you to some decent German music. In my opinion, there aren’t too many good bands / artists whose lyrics are in German, although we do have quite a few really good bands who sing in English.

      Don’t worry, it happens to me way too often that I type the most random things without knowing where they came from.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.