Unpleasant Surprises

As it turned out, yesterday’s movie wasn’t such a good entrée for my vacation. The one time I manage to make it to a sneak preview, of course, it has to be the worst movie I’ve seen all year. They were showing “The Man with the Iron Fists”, a kind of action-martial arts-science fiction spectacle written, directed and starred by RZA. The insanity started when it was set in what seemed like ancient China but must have been post-1950 and the protagonist was an Afro-American with a Ghetto accent. After that, I pretty much accepted whatever they presented me with. Which were many, many WTF-moments. Although, sometimes, I just wasn’t able to keep my questions to myself. “Did she just shoot a bullet out of her panties?” was my personal highlight, although “Are they really trying to sell Russell Crowe as a British guy?” And don’t get me started on the many suggestive ways of sex toys being used without giving the slightest bit of an erotic vibe to the scene at all. Half the movie is set in a Chinese brothel and some scenes are, if not graphic, at least suggestive. Still, not once did my inner hormone-crazed girl purr. Mind you, if it had, it would have died a tragic death when Dave Bautista let his moobs bounce in his best Hooters Girl-move.  Oh well…

Then the next traumatic experience followed this noon. I went to do the weekly grocery shopping with my mom and she insisted we have lunch at McDonald’s instead of getting some to take home afterwards. I haven’t eaten in a McDonald’s restaurant for a while. Since then, it must have become the thing to do for families. I think the two of us were the only ones who didn’t have at least one child with them. We were hiding in a corner but soon enough, two women and three kids took the table next to us. I’m not the biggest fan of kids. It’s not that I hate them, I just don’t love them, either. I must be missing a gene that makes people, especially women, coo when they see kids and want one. I’ve never wanted kids. Although, again, it’s not a case of absolutely not wanting, just not needing to. I’ve always considered it something that’d depend on my partner. If it’s something he wants, we’ll go in that direction, if not, it’s fine with me. And other people’s kids…well, I can tolerate them but I never understood how people get all teary-eyed over them. Still, that family was easily the worst I’ve encountered in a while. The kids weren’t even so bad. They were a little whiny and, as kids are, they always wanted what the other had. But the moms were horrible. Together, I’d like to refer to them as Momzilla! Out of the three kids, they were both focused on the boy, Hannes. And his name had to be mentioned in every.single.sentence. “Hannes, are you not hungry anymore? Hannes, do you want any more fries? Hannes, look at me. Hannes, we do not swear. Hannes, we are at McDonald’s and this is so, so special, so we do not need to curse. Hannes, do you not want your nuggets anymore? Hannes, is it okay if mommy eats your nuggets and fries? Hannes, do you want ice cream for dessert?” Jesus freaking Christ on a pogo stick! When I see people like that, I always wonder if they’ve always been like that or if having kids turned them into a monster. And even though all three kids were surprisingly calm and nice, the women never took the time to talk to each other or just enjoy their own food while they could. Please, if I ever have kids, remind me of these two women and save me from becoming like that!

Phew, as you can see, I’m traumatized. I’m pretty sure I’ll dream of Hannes tonight.

But when I got home, I found a pleasant surprise in my mailbox. I got my first traveling book today. Traveling books are books that people send to each other and that will come back to their owner in the end. I’ve always been a little afraid of signing up for them because I’m quite the little piggy when I’m reading and I don’t want to mess other people’s books up. But it’s just really so much cheaper than buying any myself. And trust me, I buy a lot of books, printed copies and on my Kindle, so it’s a relief to get to read some like this. Of course, it’s not like my to-be-read pile needs to grow any further.

To-be-read Nov12Speaking of which, I’m gonna be boring and show you a picture of my current tbr pile for this vacation. The actual tbr level in my book shelf is much bigger. Currently, the shelf and my Kindle contain about 30 unread books. But I try to set small goals for myself. So far, for this vacation I’ve chosen these three. “The Child Thief” by Brom is a book I’ve been reading for a while now and I’m only on page 200-something of its 699 pages, so I’m not sure I’ll finish it soon. It’s a sort of dark version of Peter Pan. Really, really dark, though. The first few pages threw me into a kind of breathless depression because the writing was so stark and so real. Definitely not a light read and I find myself throwing in more upbeat books all the time so I won’t hang myself from the shower rod. One of those would be “I Heart New York” by Lindsey Kelk. Sometimes, I like a little bit of chick lit. Sophie Kinsella is one of my favorite authors. Not because her “Shopaholic” books are so incredibly thought-provoking but because they make me laugh and sometimes, I just want to be entertained. The traveling book I received today is on top, still in its plastic bag which I’ll keep it in when I’m not reading. It’s a German book called “Jetzt ist bald und nichts ist los”. Quite coincidentally, it’s about a young woman who realizes that she got nowhere in life. Which is similar to what I’m writing for NaNoWriMo. I hope I won’t end up adopting too much from the book. I don’t want to be a copy cat. But I don’t want to wait till after November because usually, readers have 2 weeks time to read a traveling book and I don’t want us to get stuck because of me.

Speaking of NaNoWriMo…I should really go and write my piece for the day. I didn’t get to write anything after the movie last night because I was so tired and knew I had to be up early again. But I have an idea for the next part so I’d better write it down before it gets lost.

Categories: Bookworm, Me Myself and I, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Unpleasant Surprises

  1. thank you , have a nice rest of the day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.